Posted by: bobroth | March 7, 2010

From the Archives— David in The Ukraine

Everywhere the questions are the same

At the invitation of local film schools in Russia and the Ukraine, David Lynch toured Moscow and Kiev last year to speak to the press and and students about Transcendental Meditation, filmmaking, painting, photography, the creative process, and consciousness.

Everywhere the questions were the same:

• “How can meditation help students?” (Better grades, less stress, less drugs, more inner bliss, David said.)

• “Will you ever come back to make a film?” (Yes, if I get the inspiration, David said.)

• “Do artists need to suffer to create?” (I keep getting the same question everywhere. David said. The answer is No. If an artist is truly suffering, he or she won’t be able to get out of bed to work.)

Here are a few great photos from the trip (Thank you, Sam Lieb) ….

The deepest level of the mind is an ocean of creativity, energy, and bliss. Get wet with that through meditation and come out and create.

Despite repeated entreaties from film students, David steadfastly refused to explain the meaning of any of his films to anyone. He said everyone will have an intuition about what something means, and that is all that really counts.

Expand your ball of consciousness and catch ideas at deeper, more powerful levels. And then go to work.

David is a rare soul: A Hollywood director who cares as much (or more) for the welfare of the world as he does his art. His visit brought out a lot of press with a lot of questions.

David waits for a question to be translated into English…

Dr. Avinoam Barkol helps to direct the David Lynch Foundation in the Ukraine…

David signs copies of the Russian translation of his book, “Catching the Big Fish.” Ukrainian-speaking people wanted to know why wasn’t it translated into Ukraine. Good question, David said. A new translation and book is now in process.

David’s visit inspired many schools in the former Soviet nation to request Foundation programs to be offered to students, faculty, staff, and parents … (“Rocks are melting,” Maharishi would say, when what seemed to be impossible just a short while ago is now probable.)

THE FIRST DIVE
By David Lynch
From “Catching the Big Fish” (Tarcher/Penguin)

When I first heard about meditation, I had zero interest in it. I wasn’t even curious. It sounded like a waste of time.

What got me interested, though, was the phrase “true happiness lies within.” At first, I thought it sounded kind of mean because it doesn’t tell you where the “within” is, or how to get there. But, still, it had a ring of truth. And I began to think that maybe meditation was a way to go within.

I looked into meditation, asked some questions, and started contemplating different forms. At that moment, my sister called and said she had been doing Transcendental Meditation for six months. There was something in her voice. A change. A quality of happiness. And I thought, “That’s what I want.”

So, in July 1973 I went to the TM center in Los Angeles and met an instructor, and I liked her. She looked like Doris Day. And she taught me this technique. She gave me a mantra, which is a sound-vibration-thought. You don’t meditate on the meaning of it, but it’s a very specific sound-vibration-thought.

She took me into a little room to have my first meditation. I sat down, closed my eyes, started this mantra, and it was like I was in an elevator and they cut the cable. Boom! I fell into bliss – pure bliss. And I was just in there. Then the teacher said, “It’s time to come out; it’s been twenty minutes.” And I said, “IT’S ALREADY BEEN TWENTY MINUTES?!” And she said “Shhhh!,” because other people were meditating. It seemed so familiar, but also so new and powerful. After that, I said the word “unique” should be reserved for this experience.

It’s takes you to an ocean of pure consciousness, pure knowingness. But it’s familiar; it’s you. And, right away, a sense of happiness emerges – not a goofball happiness, but a thick beauty.

I have never missed a meditation in 36 years. I meditate once in the morning and again in the afternoon, for about 20 minutes each time. Then I go about the business of my day. And I find that the joy of doing increases. Intuition increases. The pleasure of life grows. And negativity recedes.

Responses

  1. Overimpressed. Feel blessings through and through.
    Thanks to brightest minds of the world, today’s heroes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

